Our Lady of the Sacred Heart St Joseph

Appointed Bishop of Tzaneen 28 January 2010, Ordained 18 April 2010


Ave Maria Pastoral Centre

PO Box 80

Tel: (015) 395 2215
Fax: (015) 395 2194

Diocesan Office

31 Draai Road
PO Box 261

Tel: (015) 307) 5244
Fax: (015) 307 3078

The Diocese was originally part of the Abbey Nullius of Pietersburg. The Irish Province of the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart took responsibility for it and sent the first four Priests in 1950. This area was constituted the Prefecture Apostolic of Louis Trichadt on 29 December 1962.

It was established as the Diocese of Louis Trichardt-Tzaneen by Decree of Pope Paul VI on 16 November 1972. By special Decree from Rome on 29 July 1987 the name of the Diocese was changed to that of the Diocese of Tzaneen.

The boundaries are: Zimbabwe in the North, the Diocese of Pietersburg and Witbank in the South, the Kruger National Park and Mozambique in the East, and the Diocese of Pietersburg and by Botswana in the West. It comprises the districts od Letaba and Soutpansberg, all of the former Venda, the districts of Malamulele and Giyani and of Ritavi in the former Gazankulu, the districts of Botlokwa, Sekgosese East, Naphuno and Namakgale in the former Lebowa.

Predecessor: Rt Rev John T Durkin MSC was appointed Prefect Apostolic on 15 February 1963 and Bishop of Louis Trichadt-Tzaneen on 16 November 1972. Ordained Bishop on 4 March 1973 at Dwars River, he retired on 30 September 1984 and died 27 September 1990. Rt Rev Hugh Slattery MSC, appointed Bishop of Louis Trichadt-Tzaneen on 22 June 1984, his Episcopal Ordination was 30 September 1984 at Dwars River Mission. He retired on 28 January 2010.

Area: 49 472 Total. Pop: 2, 2 million. Cath.Pop: 48 555



Vicar General: Very Rev. Fr. Philemon Thobela 074 224 9053
Chancellor: Sr. Sally Duigan OLSH, E-mail:
Cell: 083 462 6347
Diocesan Office: 31 Draai Road, PO Box 261, Tzaneen, 0850
Tel: (015) 307 5244, Fax: (015) 307 3078

For further information, please go to the Diocese of Tzaneen